Assigned To Me – Tasks
The Assigned To Me Tasks view shows tasks assigned to you on active projects. It’s a focussed view of all your work. Uers update progress, time, comments and attachments. The information updated in the Assigned To Me view by the user, updates the parent project and all information is rolled up to impact milestones, metrics, summaries and Project Health status.
This view shows a flat, non-hierarchical view of tasks under each project.
Managing and Updating Tasks
Task indicators listed at the project level show the total summarized metrics for the project. Task metrics at the task level show the detailed metrics for the task.
There is a coloured heart in the top right corner of the list. This indicator will be colored green, yellow or red depending on the current health status of the project.
|Task Attribute||Edit/Update Steps|
|Blocker||If the Blocker icon is showing, this indicates that the task has been flagged as a blocker. Blockers can be set in the task attributes when there is an impediment that is slowing down the team or adding constraints to the project that may risk the progress of the work.To flag the task as a blocker, click on the edit icon and select “Make this a Blocker” from the menu list. To unflag the task as a blocker, select the “Unblock” option from the menu.|
|Scope Change||If the Scope Change icon is showing, this indicates that the task has been set as a Scope Change. A Scope Change is a task or work that is considered to change the agreed scope and objectives of the project to accommodate a need not originally defined to be part of the original baseline of work for the project. It can be used to manage continuous or uncontrolled scope in the project and minimize the risk of scope creep and project overruns.A task can be flagged as a Scope Change by setting the task as a Scope Change in the task attributes in the Projects view. The Scope Change setting cannot be edited in the Assigned To Me view.|
|Blocker & Scope Change||If the Blocker & Scope Change icon is showing, this indicates that the task has been set as both a Blocker and Scope Change. The billing setting cannot be edited in the Assigned To Me view.|
|Billing/Non-Billing||If the Billing icon is showing, this indicates that the task has been set as billable. The Billing setting cannot be edited in the Assigned To Me view.|
|Task Description||If the Task Descritpion icon is showing, it indicates that there is a textual description of the task. The task description setting cannot be edited in the Assigned To Me view.|
|Checklist||Every task has the option of tracking progress with a Checklist or manual entry. Settings to track the progress are set in the task attributes in the project view.The checklist icon will be bold when checklist items have been created for the task. The checklist icon will be greyed-out when there are no checklist items for the task. When working with the list, you can filter and sort the list by selecting the icon in the top right of the screen.
Updating the Checklist
|Time Entry||You can enter billable and non-billable time at the task level.The time entry icon will be bold when time entries have been created for the task. The time entry icon will be greyed-out when there are no time entries items for the task. When working with the list, you can filter and sort the list by selecting the icon in the top right of the screen.
Updating Time Entries
|Comment||Comments are used by your team to communicate all the events that happen in a task. Comments are labeled by date and time for each contributing user entry.The comments icon will be bold when comments have been created for the task. The comments icon will be greyed-out when there are no comments for the task. When working with the list, you can sort the list by selecting the icon in the top right of the screen.
|Attachments||Assign It To Me uses cloud based services to share team documents. The advantage of using cloud based documents is that versioning is controlled by the cloud document service. Assign It To Me provides links to the services via an api and these document links are saved within the attachment list.The attachments icon will be bold when attachments have been created for the task. The attachments icon will be greyed-out when there are no attachments for the task.
Document cloud services used for attachments:
When working with the list, you can sort the list by selecting the icon in the top right of the screen.
Add a Cloud Service Attachment
Add a Custom Link Attachment
|Tags||Tags are keywords or terms that help describe a task and allows it to be found again by filtering or searching.The Tag icon will be bold when tags have been created for the task. The tag icon will be greyed-out when there are no comments for the task. You can add multiple tags to a task.
Quick Entry Updates
|User Form||Edit/Update Steps|
Adding Time using the Quick Entry screen
Clicking on the Scheduled, Actual or Remaining time metric will display the Update Time Quick Entry form.
Adding Progress using the Quick Entry screen
Clicking on the % Complete metric will display the Task Progress Quick Entry form. A task’s progress can be calculated based on a checklist or a manual progress entry.
If the task’s percent complete is determined by a checklist, the checklist will be displayed. If the task’s percent complete is not determined by a checklist, the manual Task Progress will be displayed.(see image left) The user can manually enter an arbitrary value for the progress of the task.
Edit a Task
Another option to edit the task attributes is to click on the edit icon and select an action from the dropdown menu.
View the Task Schedule
Click on the Due date to view the task schedule. The scheduled information view shows the scheduled, actual and variance by start date and snd date.
The Schedule Information setting cannot be edited in the Assigned To Me view.
- To add a filter token, simply type in a keyword in the filtering field and press enter to register it.
- “Magic tokens” begin with a ‘:’ and offer autocomplete.
- The filter will match any task that has any of the tokens in the filter bar.
- To remove a filter token, click on the ‘x’ on the right side of the filter token.
- To sort, click on the or icon to the right side of the filter field and a menu will appear allowing you to choose an attribute to sort on.
- Choosing an attribute already being sorted on will toggle the ordering from ascending to descending and vice versa.
- An icon indicates an ascending sort order, while an icon indicates a descending sort order.
Expanding and Collapsing
- Projects can be expanded and collapsed by clicking on the or icons to the left of the project name.
- You can expand or collapse *all* projects by clicking on the or icons to the left of the filter bar.
- To jump directly to a project, click on a project name.
- Projects assigned to your are also listed in the left navigation pane. These tasks will have a heart indicatior with the color showing the current project health status. (Green, Yellow or Red) Clicking on the project link in the left navigation pane will jump you to the project in the project list view.